James Redmond – Video City II : AV8-18

James Redmond – Video City II : AV8-18

(Limited Edition LP and CD with Signed Print and Art Card)


  • Castle of Illusion
  • This Is Knowsley
  • Running With The Devil
  • Child of the Ocean
  • Rainbow Road
  • Will She Meet Me?
  • We’ll Go Racing
  • The Fang
  • Emerald Hills

From being a founder member of Bandwagon legends Tramp Attack to recording early Coral demos, then playing in a later incarnation of The LA’s, James Redmond’s artistic journey has been a labour of love.

His debut album, Video City ll- with songs cherrypicked from the beginning of that journey to the present day- features many of his past collaborators, including James and Ian Skelly of The Coral and Dave McCabe of The Zutons.

Redmond says: Video City II is inspired by the VHS trailers, movies, consoles, video games, posters, arcades and rental stores of a bygone era. A time before the internet, when the medium of VHS was king- a time when the local video store was a gateway to another universe.

Pressed onto limited edition splatter vinyl with artwork designed by the enigmatic Seasick Sailor, Video City II is a wormhole into the imagination of a lost lo-fi adventurer.


Video City II
Finally releasing his debut album, Redmond is a long-standing lynchpin of the Liverpool scene, from bassist-songwriter with Tramp Attack to Coral frontman James Skelly’s 2012-13 group The Intenders. Skelly crops up on Video City II, lending his distinctive vocals to the loping, Mellotron-driven groove of ‘Running With The Devil’, while Tramp Attack bandmate Dave McCabe (latterly of The Zutons) delivers ominous spoken word on ‘This Is Knowsley’.
Inspired by the arcade games and movie rental posters of the VHS era, the tracks flow together like a mix tape. The dominant vibe is stoned, lo-fi psychedelia, but the songs are all tantalising trailers for coming attractions in a variety of genres, from unexpected rap number ‘Rainbow Road’ to the lilting folk-pop of ‘Will She Meet Me’. Choosing between hypnagogic Beach Boys pastiche ‘We’ll Go Racing’ and the sci-fi braggadocio of ‘The Fang’ is impossible, however; you’ll surely want to rent them all.

Review By: Ben Graham – Shindig Magazine

AV8 RECORDS LTD a not for profit small record label . Everything goes either to the artist or towards future projects.

RELEASESJames Redmond – Video City II : AV8-18